Skip to content

Jaime Espensen-Sturges joins Alamo Research Center

November 15, 2013

Image

Jaime Espensen-Sturges began working at the Alamo Research Center in February to help with the inventory research project that the Research Center has been undergoing. She became the full time interim archivist and library assistant in August. She says:

I feel blessed to be here at the Alamo Research Center. I’m from McAllen in the Rio Grande Valley, and there is nothing I love more than South Texas history except for old documents about South Texas history. I believe that the Alamo was the place where my love of history really started to develop when I read the book The Boy in the Alamo by Margaret Cousins. I have studied Civil War history, women in the Civil War, Argentine folk dance history, the intersections of memory, history, and identity, and South Texas borderlands history. I am finishing my Master’s degree in Public History at Texas State University at San Marcos. My goal is to continue the work of my able predecessors here at the Alamo Research Center to ensure that the materials here are available to researchers and the general public. I believe that this access to our history is critical to how we form ideas about our individual and community identities. In other words, our history becomes very much who we are.

I love being involved with the collections here, and I look forward to helping you with your research or even just preservation tips for your personal family documents.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

