Skip to content

Meet the DRT Library Staff: Lydia Cuellar

December 31, 2009

This is the second installment in a series of “meet the staff” entries that share information about each member of the DRT Library’s team. Read on to learn more about Lydia Cuellar, who started working at the library in December 2007.

*****

Library Assistant Lydia Cuellar.

Library Assistant Lydia Cuellar.

As one of two Library Assistants, I assist my colleagues in any way they need. If you’ve ever called the library, chances are you heard my voice on the other end of the line; one of my primary responsibilities is to answer the phone and assist callers with their questions. Some of my other usual duties include going to the post office every day to collect the library’s mail; creating and printing labels for library materials, each one containing the item’s call number and a barcode; covering books with protective Mylar enclosures; shelving materials used by patrons; and helping patrons with their research. I have also worked on larger projects at the library; specifically, I created barcode labels for approximately 800 boxes in the archival collection and inventoried all items in the library’s collections in order to identify missing materials.

I especially enjoy helping patrons who visit the library to conduct genealogy. It gives me great satisfaction when I help them find an ancestor they were looking for and to see their excitement.  Genealogy is also a personal passion of mine because I believe family history helps defines us.

I have an Associate of Applied Science degree through Palo Alto College’s Teacher Assistant/Aide program; I also earned a Library Assistant Certificate through the program and I currently serve on its Advisory Board. Before coming to the DRT Library, I worked as a library intern at the George Ozuna Jr. Learning Resource Center at Palo Alto College, where I helped organize the Children’s Summer Program. My previous employment included various positions at several different companies including USAA, TETCO, and my home daycare business. I have enjoyed each and every job I’ve had, and for that I feel very fortunate.

Born and raised in Kenedy, Texas, I have lived most of my life in San Antonio. Currently, my husband, Salvador, and I live in Floresville. We appreciate the peace and quiet, especially being able to watch deer and hear birds singing as we drink our coffee in the morning. Our experience of living in South Africa several years ago helped us appreciate nature more and contributed to our decision to move to Floresville. My relationship with God and being with my family – which, besides my husband, includes my son Jason, his wife, his daughter Selah, and my daughter Jillian – are priorities for me. I also enjoy camping out and being outside.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

