Skip to content

Meet the DRT Library Staff: Leslie Stapleton

June 28, 2010

This is the fourth entry in a series of “meet the staff” posts that share information about each member of the DRT Library’s team. Leslie Stapleton has held a variety of positions at the Library since beginning her employment in May 2000; she has been the Director of the DRT Library since July 2008.

*****

Leslie Stapleton, DRT Library Director.

Leslie Stapleton, DRT Library Director.

In 2000 I joined the DRT Library staff as a library assistant. My duties included answering the phone, maintaining the Library’s website and other information technology, processing books after they were cataloged, and providing reference services. I also worked with Elaine Davis, then the DRT Library Director, to establish the Family History Seminar. When I first took the library assistant position, I was excited to put my genealogy skills to use. However, I viewed it primarily as a full-time job to have while I was completing a master’s degree in technical writing at Southwest Texas State University (now Texas State University in San Marcos). I had not previously thought about being a librarian. However, through my work at the DRT Library, I fell in love with librarianship and with this institution in particular.

Leslie as a library assistant in 2002.

Leslie as a library assistant in 2002.

In 2004, I began graduate work in library science and was promoted to the cataloging librarian position. In addition to cataloging new acquisitions, my responsibilities included planning the Family History Seminar, helping to select and establish the Library’s new online catalog, moving and mapping bibliographic records from the old to the new catalog, working with an outside contractor to develop the Library’s new website, and maintaining the Library’s web presence.

I have been the Director of the DRT Library since July 2008. In this position, my work is primarily administrative, involving budget development and management, special events planning, acquisitions and donor cultivation, coordination with Alamo staff and the DRT Library Committee, personnel management, project supervision, and information technology maintenance.

A native of south Texas, I graduated from Southwest Texas State University in 1997 with a bachelor’s degree in mass communications, specializing in print journalism, and a minor in English. In 2007 I received a Master of Science degree in library science from the University of North Texas at Denton.

My husband, Jeffery, and I have been married since 1988. We live in Wilson County near Floresville with our seven-year-old son, Charlie, whose participation in sports keeps us busy. Our family is active with the Floresville United Methodist Church, where I have recently been asked to serve as an historian/archivist and a member of the 135th anniversary planning committee.

My favorite thing about working at the DRT Library has always been and remains getting people excited about Texas history. Sometimes visitors who come to the library are not particularly interested in the subject, but I love that showing them something from our collections can spark their interest. I also enjoy working with my great colleagues; the Library is certainly blessed to have such a great staff. They help make it fun to come to work each day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

